Manawatu Toyota Grassroots Sport Awards

Sport Manawatu is set to recognise the region’s most dedicated sport volunteers and organisations at the Manawatu Toyota Grassroots Sports Awards next week.

The awards evening will celebrate 26 individual volunteers and seven organisations who are finalists across ten award categories. There is also a recognition award for our ‘super volunteers’.

“Our Super Volunteers are the dedicated people who have been giving up their time for over 25 years. That’s an impressive feat and they deserve to be recognised,” says Sport Manawatu Chief Executive, Trevor Shailer.

“We are very lucky to be such a proud sporting region and what comes with that is a huge pool of amazing sports organisations and clubs,” he adds.

This year’s Volunteer Categories Are:

  • Behind the Scenes Volunteer
  • Front Line Volunteer
  • All-rounder Volunteer
  • Youth Volunteer

The Organisation Categories are:

  • Participation Initiative of the year
  • Event of the Year
  • Volunteer Development Initiative of the Year
  • Business Partner of the Year

“It is people like Naioma Chase and Brenda Baker who really make sport happen in our region. In just one year, Naioma has re-established the Dannevirke Tigers Rugby League Club, growing it from just one to 18 people last season to a very healthy 230 members this season,” says Shailer.

“Brenda gives up her time to be a Marist Junior Rugby committee member, event organiser and club photographer. The dedication to sport is impressive to say the least.”

Sport Manawatu will also name two supreme winners in the ‘Regional Sport Maker of the Year’ (Volunteer) and ‘Sports Organisation of the Year’.

The event will be held on Friday 17 November at the Palmerston North Function and Conference Centre.

Congratulations to all nominees of the 2017 Manawatu Toyota Grassroots Sports Awards. We are pleased to announce that the finalists are:

Youth Volunteer of the Year

  • Ethan Riley
  • Malachi Boyd
  • Meg Rogers
  • Grace Henley-King
  • Olivia Rose- Gurney
  • Caleb Hansen

Front Line Volunteer of the Year

  • Josh Curry
  • Joe Frost
  • Phil Riley
  • Mal Thomas
  • Malcolm Nicol

Organisation Event of the Year

  • Marist Junior Rugby
  • Special Olympics Manawatu

Business Partner of the Year

  • New Zealand Specialised Coatings and Marist Junior Rugby
  • Café Cuba and Central Football

Behind the Scenes Volunteer of the Year

  • Brenda Baker
  • Belinda Crosswell
  • Phil Pirie
  • Warren Stent
  • Daniel Todd
  • Lucinda Dodunski

All rounder Volunteer of the Year

  • Kent Higson
  • Rob Dabb
  • Belinda Bidois
  • Vanessa Story
  • Naioma Chase
  • Lawrence Erihe
  • Lin Tozer
  • Richard Skarott
  • Melanie Davies

Participation Initiative of the Year

  • Manawatu Mountain Bike Club
  • Marist Junior Rugby
  • Dannevirke Tiger Rugby League

Volunteer Development Initiative of the Year

  • Central Football
  • Kiwi Canoe Polo
Click Here To Purchase Tickets