Tararua Sports Awards

From left: Kelly Shanks (CEO, Sport Manawatū), Ken Metekingi (Legend of Sport), Suresh Patel QSM (Legend of Sport), Tararua District Mayor Tracey Collis.

On Friday 22 March, the Tararua District community came together at Tararua College for an unforgettable evening dedicated to honouring remarkable sporting achievements at the Tararua Sports Awards. After a hiatus enforced by the challenges of the pandemic, this long-awaited in-person event brought forth a renewed sense of celebration and recognition.

Organised by Sport Tararua, the event received unwavering support from the Tararua District Council and local businesses, underscoring the profound impact and value that sports bring to the region.

“The Tararua Sports Awards embody the spirit of our community, recognising the dedication, talent, and perseverance of our athletes and contributors,” remarked Kelly Shanks, CEO of Sport Manawatū. “It’s more than just acknowledging achievements; it’s about celebrating the resilience and passion that drive our sporting endeavours forward.”

Mayor Tracey Collis delivered the opening speech, expressing her deep-seated passion for sports and recreation within the Tararua District community.

The evening was filled with anticipation and excitement as the deserving winners were announced:

  • Scanpower Junior Sportsman of the Year: Brodie Bennett (Squash)
  • MCI & Associates Junior Sportswoman of the Year: Caley McNair (Smallbore Rifle Shooting)
  • Bush Telegraph Administrator/Volunteer of the Year: Esther Hutton (Football)
  • Sport Tararua Official of the Year: Ken Metekingi (Netball)
  • Property Brokers Team of the Year: DHS Smallbore Rifle Shooting
  • Ngāti Kahungunu ki Tāmaki nui-ā-Rua Coach of the Year: Adam Jones & Tony Mansill (Boxing) and Angus Hutton (Football)
  • Sport Tararua Community Active Recreation and Play Award: Ngāti Kahungunu ki Tāmaki nui-ā-Rua
  • Tararua District Council Grassroots Club of the Year: Dannevirke Tigers Rugby League Club
  • Visique Optometrists Sportsperson of the Year: Jamie Davidson (Athletics).

Each winner epitomises the dedication and spirit of sportsmanship that enriches the Tararua community.

The awards night also saw three people inducted into the Tararua Legends of Sport:

  • Suresh Patel QSM for his service to sport in the Tararua District.
  • Former Tararua Sportsperson of the year Award, Megan Hull for her commitment and dedication to high performance sport.
  • Ken Metekingi for his service to netball as an umpire.

The Tararua District Sports Awards not only recognise outstanding achievement but also serve as a testament to the enduring passion and commitment to excellence within the local sporting landscape.

For further information, please contact:

Hinekawa Wilson-Munday
Tararua Community Connector, Sport Tararua
Phone 021 198 2616
Email hinekawa.wilson-munday@sportmanawatu.org.nz